Spark Energy Reviews

Spark Energy Reviews Hot

 
3.5 (9)
Write Review

Spark Energy is dedicated to providing local, dedicated customer service. We'd love to hear from you on what we're doing well - and what we can improve upon.  Thank you for your feedback! We read each Spark Energy review and respond where possible.

You may also email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. directly for help in resolving a Spark Energy complaint or issue.

User reviews

Average user rating from: 9 user(s)

Overall rating 
 
3.5
Customer Service 
 
4.1  (9)
Plans & Products  
 
2.9  (9)
Account Mgmt 
 
3.5  (9)
Already have an account?
Ratings (the higher the better)
  • Customer Service
  • Plans & Products
  • Account Mgmt
Terms of Use
Please read our Terms of Use
Comments
Please enter the security code.
The sales representatives were very knowledgeable. I also appreciate that this company seems to be very green focused. They are one of the only companies I could find that has a carbon neutral gas product.
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Customer Service 
 
5.0
Plans & Products  
 
4.0
Account Mgmt 
 
4.0
Reviewed by Laura May 12, 2014

Very Knowledgeable

The sales representatives were very knowledgeable. I also appreciate that this company seems to be very green focused. They are one of the only companies I could find that has a carbon neutral gas product.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Spark will lower your bills initially, then jack up your rate to more than double what you're local Electricity provider is billing. I was paying almost $600.00 a month in the winter with Spark. They racked me over the coals for 2 months beofre I switched. Once I switched back my bill was cut in half. I feel as if they came by and litterally just flat out robbed me. Avoid this company.
Overall rating 
 
1.7
Customer Service 
 
3.0
Plans & Products  
 
1.0
Account Mgmt 
 
1.0
Reviewed by Justin Pratt July 07, 2014
Last updated: July 07, 2014

Not recommended.

Spark will lower your bills initially, then jack up your rate to more than double what you're local Electricity provider is billing. I was paying almost $600.00 a month in the winter with Spark. They racked me over the coals for 2 months beofre I switched. Once I switched back my bill was cut in half. I feel as if they came by and litterally just flat out robbed me. Avoid this company.

Owner's reply

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. I am sorry to hear about your experience. Spark Energy provides alternatives for natural gas and electricity supply. We offer customers fixed-term products to provide price stability. Once a fixed-term contract has expired, it is possible for customers to move to a variable rate that may be higher than the fixed-term due to market conditions.

We know our customers are busy, and electricity isn't always top of mind. We send renewal notices to customers in order to alert them to expiring contracts. Our goal is certainly to renew our customers on fixed-rate contracts. Again, we are sorry to hear about your experience and hope you will consider using Spark Energy as your electricity provider in the future. If you would like to discuss your account in more detail, please email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Was this review helpful to you? 
I was really impressed with your customer care team when I called in with an issue the other week. Great team!
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Customer Service 
 
5.0
Plans & Products  
 
3.0
Account Mgmt 
 
4.0
Reviewed by Sarah Smith May 06, 2014
Last updated: May 08, 2014

Great Customer Service

I was really impressed with your customer care team when I called in with an issue the other week. Great team!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I am extremely disappointed! My 12-month contract expired mid June. Unfortunately I did not get a renewed contract by that date and my rate actually doubled for the month. It went from 9.3/kwh to 18.49/kwh with no notice that it would jump this high. I've attempted to call customer service twice and am on eternal hold. This is about 8 cents per kwh higher than any other company. What a rip-off!! Will notify the Texas PUC.
Overall rating 
 
1.0
Customer Service 
 
1.0
Plans & Products  
 
1.0
Account Mgmt 
 
1.0
Reviewed by Barbara Nunn July 14, 2014

Soaring rates!

I am extremely disappointed! My 12-month contract expired mid June. Unfortunately I did not get a renewed contract by that date and my rate actually doubled for the month. It went from 9.3/kwh to 18.49/kwh with no notice that it would jump this high. I've attempted to call customer service twice and am on eternal hold. This is about 8 cents per kwh higher than any other company. What a rip-off!! Will notify the Texas PUC.

Owner's reply

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It sounds like Hector on our Customer Care team was able to get in touch with you to discuss your account. In speaking with him, I was happy to hear that it sounds like we were able to resolve the billing issue to your satisfaction. Please don't hesitate to reach out to Hector directly should you need additional assistance. Thanks again for your feedback.

Was this review helpful to you? 
I am blown away by the client service provided by Spark Energy. My Representative, Josie, went way beyond the call of duty as I sifted through a billing issue with Nicor Gas. After a follow-up call from Josie the next week, we had everything straightened out. Josie is professional, kind, & caring, something so rare in the service industry today. I applaud Spark Energy for their focus on the most important element of all, their customers. I applaud Josie for bringing her upbeat energy to work and sharing it with me. She's a keeper, for sure! Blessings!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Customer Service 
 
5.0
Plans & Products  
 
5.0
Account Mgmt 
 
5.0
Reviewed by BartlettRez May 22, 2014
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Customer Service - Above & Beyond!

I am blown away by the client service provided by Spark Energy. My Representative, Josie, went way beyond the call of duty as I sifted through a billing issue with Nicor Gas. After a follow-up call from Josie the next week, we had everything straightened out. Josie is professional, kind, & caring, something so rare in the service industry today. I applaud Spark Energy for their focus on the most important element of all, their customers. I applaud Josie for bringing her upbeat energy to work and sharing it with me. She's a keeper, for sure! Blessings!

Owner's reply

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience. We are pleased to hear you are happy with Spark Energy and that Josie was able to take care of you! We look forward to continuing to serve you and please don’t hesitate to let us know if there is anything else we can do for you.

Was this review helpful to you? 
I needed clarification regarding the end of my contract with Spark Energy. I received conflicting information from Customer Service and sent the question to Spark Energy. I then received a call from Caleph in the Office of the President who had reviewed my calls to Customer Service and responded with accurate and helpful information. It is refreshing to find a company that not only responded to my question but cared enough to get me the appropriate information.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Customer Service 
 
5.0
Plans & Products  
 
5.0
Account Mgmt 
 
5.0
Reviewed by duckyspark May 29, 2014
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Excellent response to contract question

I needed clarification regarding the end of my contract with Spark Energy. I received conflicting information from Customer Service and sent the question to Spark Energy. I then received a call from Caleph in the Office of the President who had reviewed my calls to Customer Service and responded with accurate and helpful information. It is refreshing to find a company that not only responded to my question but cared enough to get me the appropriate information.

Owner's reply

Thank you for your feedback! I'm glad Caleph was able to provide you with the information you needed. We appreciate the opportunity to serve you and please don't hesitate to let us know if there is anything else we can assist you with in the future.

Was this review helpful to you? 
The service is fantastic. We have saved so much money since we have switched to Spark. Our neighbors were shocked at how low our bills were last summer during a heat wave. On top of that the customer service is so friendly and caring (which is so rare these days). This is a wonderful company. Thank You!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Customer Service 
 
5.0
Plans & Products  
 
5.0
Account Mgmt 
 
5.0
Reviewed by ask5 July 03, 2014
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Great Company

The service is fantastic. We have saved so much money since we have switched to Spark. Our neighbors were shocked at how low our bills were last summer during a heat wave. On top of that the customer service is so friendly and caring (which is so rare these days). This is a wonderful company. Thank You!

Owner's reply

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! We appreciate the feedback and the opportunity to serve you. We are proud to have local customer service agents and it's good to hear that you have had great experiences with them. Please don't hesitate to let us know if there is anything we can assist you with in the future!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Their rates are higher and have the worst website ever
So not user friendly. Does not work half the time, cant pay your
bill on their site
Overall rating 
 
2.0
Customer Service 
 
3.0
Plans & Products  
 
1.0
Account Mgmt 
 
2.0
Reviewed by BJLaws August 07, 2014
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Worst website ever

Their rates are higher and have the worst website ever
So not user friendly. Does not work half the time, cant pay your
bill on their site

Owner's reply

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are currently working on improving www.sparkenergy.com to improve the user experience. We recently solicited customer feedback about the website and plan to use that feedback to make the online experience for our customers better than ever. We do apologize for any problems you encountered on the website. Thank you again for taking the time to leave a review.

Was this review helpful to you? 
This is one of those "gotcha providers". When you initially sign up your rate is low. But once your contract ends, they automatically switch you to month-to-month and your kWh rate goes way up. My last bill was 21.26/kWh. If you do sign up, be sure to cancel immediatly after the contract ends. This practice should be illegal.
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Customer Service 
 
5.0
Plans & Products  
 
1.0
Account Mgmt 
 
4.0
Reviewed by John McQueen August 27, 2014

Beware of this Provider

This is one of those "gotcha providers". When you initially sign up your rate is low. But once your contract ends, they automatically switch you to month-to-month and your kWh rate goes way up. My last bill was 21.26/kWh. If you do sign up, be sure to cancel immediatly after the contract ends. This practice should be illegal.

Was this review helpful to you?